Is your diet lacking?

Heart-shaped-Hard-boiled-EggsMost of us in the crossfit world eat some type of paleo-ish diet. Some are very strict, while others perhaps more lenient in what they eat. This diet, which recommends a primary consumption of vegetables, protein, and fats really is an excellent way to eat healthy on a daily basis. I have been eating paleo for 2 and ½ years, and I have been very happy with the results. However a recent bout of very out of the ordinary intense depression had me analyzing my diet to see if it was lacking in nutrients that could be contributing to this awful mood- and in fact- it was.

The irony of us consuming clean, whole foods is that by not eating processed, we are missing some of the vitamins and minerals that the government so generously feeds the rest of America in the way of “fortified’ foods. Becoming responsible for ensuring that we cover the micronutrient array necessary for proper body function was not, for me personally, the first thing on my list of “am I doing this paleo thing right?”. I erroneously presumed that by consuming a diet high in vegetables and meat that I was getting everything that my body needed. However as the soil our food is grown in (even if it is organic) has substantially less nutrients compared to 100 years ago, we now more than ever have to be cognizant of what our diets could be lacking.  Add to that that most of us consume little if any dairy, and it is something we all need to be aware of. After quite a bit of research, here is what I discovered might be missing from our diets:

First and foremost, folate. This was potentially what was causing my depression. Folate deficiency has been found to be a contributing factor in depression in adults, as it is a necessary vitamin in cognitive and nerve functions. Sources of foods that contain high amounts of folate are oranges, legumes, liver, and yeast. Ironically, if you eat paleo, often times we are not consuming 3 out of 4 of those sources. Because folate is so vital in the synthesis of DNA, and low levels in pregnant women can severely affect the development of a fetus, in 1998 the FDA mandated that folic acid be added to all enriched grains and cereal products. That is how the majority of Americans get their recommended daily amount (RDA). If we don’t consume bread and pasta, we now have to be hyper vigilant in our efforts to ensure we are getting enough. I am now taking a folic acid supplement until I can figure out my diet. High amounts of folate can be found in spinach, asparagus, and broccoli.  In a perfect world these veggies would be eaten raw, as folate can be destroyed by cooking.

Another micronutrient that we may be potentially deficient in is calcium, which to many might not come as much of a surprise. Again by eliminating one of the primary sources from our diets, most of us may not be getting nearly enough. I was aghast to find that once I started tracking my food I am actually only getting 50% of the RDA. This can easily be remedied by consuming more broccoli, collard greens, spinach (this time cooked), chia seeds, and bone broth. One cup of cooked spinach has approximately 240mg of calcium in it- the RDA for an adult woman is 1300mg per day.

Lastly, our diets may be insufficient in magnesium. Women need about 320mg a day and men about 420mg. While nuts are considered a fairly good source, there is no one food that has a lot of magnesium in it, so we have to be sure we consume a bunch of sources that all have a little. In the paleo world, we can consume spinach (again- cooked), bananas, kiwis, avocados, and chocolate (my personal favorite). Low magnesium levels can contribute to poor sleep, irritability, muscle weakness, and G.I issues.

Eating a paleo diet in my opinion is still the best way to go, as we tend to meet or exceed the RDA’s for all the other vitamins and minerals due to our heavy consumption of meat and fats. We just need to be conscious of the few nutrients that we may be short on, and from my research, it looks like if you eat a lot of spinach and broccoli you will be doing just fine!

Categories: Food

Tagged as: ,

Leave a comment